Submit a ticket My Tickets
Welcome
Login  Sign up
Open navigation

How to Provisionally Restrict Access to your School and Manually Approve Sign-ups

Availability
Starter
Pro Trainer
Learning Center
High Volume & Corporate

Signup Approval is an extra layer of control on signups to allow you to create schools of restricted access. Visitors can create a new account as per usual, but admins can review new signups and manually approve/reject them.


Specifically, the admin can:

  • Review the signup fields (Name, Email, and any additional custom Signup Fields) provided by the new user and decide whether to approve or reject them.
  • Right after signup, the admin can also ask extra questions via a qualification form, thus getting extra data to decide whether the new user is a right fit for the school. For more info about how to collect customer feedback using a Qualification Form, click here.

User Experience

  • If approved, the user can navigate freely in the school.
  • If rejected, the user is locked in the Access request rejected page and cannot navigate to logged-in pages (such as their after-login page).
  • While pending the admin’s review, the user is locked on the Access request under review page.

Who can benefit?

  • Schools that have disabled the signups and admins add their users manually. They can allow signups and activate the Signup Approval function, which will allow self-served sign-ups but restrict school access until an admin approves. 
  • Apart from saving time compared to manual enrollments, this also allows admins to collect additional user data (custom signup fields, qualification data) that would be more complicated to collect in the case of manually adding users. 
- Signup Approval is on the school level, not the course level. It allows admins to accept or reject new users from accessing their school’s logged-in pages (after login page, course player, etc.). 
- Only administrative roles with the Manage Users permission can approve or reject users. 
- The Signup Approval feature is not supported on Mobile Apps.

Enable the Signup Approval

Navigate to UsersApprovals Setup and enable the feature.

User's Flow

1. User signs up.

2. They will be redirected to the Access request under review page.

  1. If approved, the user can then navigate the school according to any other restrictions set up (eg, lock non-paying users to a specific page).
  2. If rejected, the user will be locked on the Access request rejected page.

User Flow with Qualification Form

1. User signs up.

2. They will be redirected to the Qualification form (if enabled).

  1. If the form is mandatory, they stay on the qualification form until they complete it. 
  2. If the form is optional, they can either answer or skip it.

3. They will be redirected to the Access request under review page.

  1. If approved, the user can then navigate the school according to any other restrictions set up (e.g., lock non-paying users to a specific page).
  2. If rejected, the user will be locked on the Access request rejected page.

For more information about the Qualification Form, navigate to our relevant article here.

Admin's Actions

Admins via the Approvals page:

1. Review new signups (custom signup fields and qualification form answers if asked).

2. Approve/reject new signups.

3. Modify the statuses from rejected to pending or from approved to rejected, etc.

Note: If a user tries to create an account while this feature is enabled and you choose to deactivate it without first approving or rejecting them, the user will be automatically created. In this case, the user's name will be shown in your users' tab, but they won’t have real access to the school. Those users will keep seeing the pending screen until you approve/reject their request.

Edit Pending/Reject pages

You can edit the Access request under review or the Access request rejected page. Navigate to Users  ApprovalsSetup, click on the Access request under review or Access request rejectedAlso, from your admin's dashboard, you can go to Website → Design Edit website, select the system pages category, and click on the Access Request Rejected or Access Request Rejected pages.

Payments before Approval

Payments for users before they have been manually approved by the admin are not allowed to protect users from purchasing a product but not having access to it. 


If you have enabled the Signup Approval, you are advised to:

a. Lock the payment page. To lock the payment page, you must go from your admin's dashboard to Website  Navigation or Edit website  Site Site navigation.

b. Not include payment zones on public pages.

c. Not allow signups via payment zones only.


This precautionary limitation has not been applied to Shopify as your payment gateway. A logged-out user will be able to purchase a course and will not be locked on the pending pages until manually approved. Of course, you can still follow the steps above to ensure that no payments will occur before a user has been manually approved.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.