Submit a ticket My Tickets
Welcome
Login  Sign up
Open navigation

How to Customize User Navigation & When are Learning Activities Considered Completed?

You can specify whether users can navigate freely in the course contents or have to comply with specific restrictions. In order to unlock all the available features, you can upgrade to our Learning Center plan and above.

Free navigation 

If you choose this option (available on all our plans), users can navigate freely in your content with no restrictions. That means, they can jump to any learning activity they want. There are no restrictions on what or when they are going to see it. Μarks ( ) in the path tab indicate which activities are completed. 

Sequential navigation

With sequential navigation (available on our Pro Trainer plan and above), the user has to "complete" each learning activity before continuing to the next. A typical choice for accreditation courses, and not only. The user can’t skip an activity before completing the previous one. Therefore, if the user tries to jump to the next unit a relevant message will appear, and if they try to visit another unit in the learning path they will see it as locked.

Navigation with Prerequisites 

Not all, but some of the units are considered prerequisites to unlocking the units that follow them (available on our Learning Center plan and above). Milestones that the user has to complete to unlock content further ahead. When you enable this choice, the side form when editing a learning activity will also present a checkbox for setting this activity as a prerequisite.

Notes:

  • In the Course Navigation options, you can also choose if you want the next video unit to be loaded automatically when a video ends (Course Video auto-progress).
  • You can change the text of the navigation buttons (previous - next).

When is a learning activity considered completed?

Be careful, learning activities completion can be set in three different ways, either you have chosen free or sequential navigation inside your course: 


1. A unit is considered completed when it is visited. The simplest way for quick progress, freedom, and relaxed courses. By just visiting a unit it is marked as completed (available on all our plans).


However, exams, assignments, and certificates are completed only when passed.

2. Another choice is when a unit is considered completed according to default estimations of workload. That means that the user has to watch a video for at least its duration, has to read an ebook for at least the automatically extracted reading time (calculated based on the contained word), has to pass the exams or the certificates, and visit for at least 5 secs all the other learning activities (100% read time for ebooks, 100% of the duration of the video, formal questionnaires when passed, and everything else after 5 seconds).


If you have set the free navigation option and the user jumps to a unit without completing the previous one, the unit gets marked with a bullet. Only if the user returns and watches the whole video will it be marked as completed (available on our Learning Center plan and above).


If you have chosen sequential navigation, the user can’t go to the next unit unless the estimated engagement time is completed.


3. Finally, you can also have, customized unit completion rules. In this section, you can customize the values of unit duration (available on the Learning Center plan and above). That means that you can set your desired reading time for each of your units. You have got three choices here:

a. Set your own rules. For example,

  • In the case of your ebooks, you want the user to read 20% of the total reading time.

  • In the case of your videos, you want the user to view 20% of the total video duration.

  • You can set a common minimum type time for all other units (in seconds).

  • Assignments and exams are completed only when passed.

b. You can set a global minimum time for all units (in seconds) (except again certificates, assignments, and exams, which are completed only when passed)

c. Set Custom time for each element. If you select this choice, you can edit each learning unit and set the completion time separately. If you choose this checkbox, you will see in the side form when editing a learning unit, two new number inputs.


Again, if you have set free navigation and the user jumps to a unit without completing the previous one, the unit gets marked with a bullet. If you have chosen sequential navigation, the user can’t go to the next unit unless the customized engagement time is completed.

Event for Zapier/Webooks

If you use Zapier to fire a course completion event, the course player settings are where you can determine when this event happens exactly.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.